Checked August 27, 2026: The official 2026-27 NHL team payroll range runs from a $76.9 million lower limit to a $104.0 million upper limit, with a $90.4 million midpoint. The new collective bargaining agreement also raises the NHL minimum player salary to $850,000.

Those figures do not mean every team pays exactly $104 million in cash or every NHL player earns the same share. Contract value, annual salary, signing bonuses, average annual value and salary-cap charge answer different questions. This guide separates them and shows how to compare players, positions and teams without turning a cap table into a take-home-pay claim.

Official NHL salary numbers for 2026-27

The NHL and NHL Players' Association jointly announced the final 2026-27 Team Payroll Range on May 6, 2026. The figures are league accounting thresholds in U.S. dollars. They do not describe one player's paycheque, a team's ticket budget or a prediction of where every club will finish.

Official figure2026-27 amountCorrect use
Lower Limit$76.9 millionThe bottom of the Team Payroll Range, subject to CBA accounting.
Midpoint$90.4 millionA range calculation reference—not a forecast average for 32 clubs.
Upper Limit$104.0 millionThe standard team salary-cap ceiling before applicable exceptions and adjustments.
Minimum NHL salary$850,000The minimum Paragraph 1 NHL Salary under the new CBA for 2026-27.

The prior season's upper limit was $95.5 million, making the scheduled increase $8.5 million. That larger ceiling gives clubs more nominal room, but it does not automatically make every contract affordable. Existing extensions, bonus treatment, retained salary, buyouts, injuries and roster composition all affect the calculation. A team can commit much of the new room before opening night.

The official NHL/NHLPA payroll announcement is the correct citation for the three team thresholds. The $850,000 minimum comes from the 2025 memorandum that takes effect with the new agreement on September 16, 2026. Use the 2026-27 season dates to place the figures in the right season.

Do not divide $104 million by 23 players and label the result the “average NHL salary.” The cap accounts for contracts under detailed rules; roster counts change; some charges do not map one-to-one to current active players; and cash salary can differ from cap charge. The remaining sections explain those differences.

Salary, total contract value, AAV and cap hit are different

A contract headline usually combines term and total value: for example, “four years, $28 million.” Dividing total scheduled value by four produces a basic $7 million average annual value, or AAV. That average is useful for salary-cap discussion, but it does not require the player to receive exactly $7 million in cash during each year.

Consider a fictional four-year contract with scheduled compensation of $10 million, $8 million, $6 million and $4 million. The four amounts total $28 million, so the basic AAV is $7 million. The player would have $10 million of scheduled gross compensation in the first year—not $7 million—while the club would generally begin its cap analysis from the $7 million average. This simplified example assumes no retained salary, buyout or other special treatment.

Illustrated comparison of a hockey contract's changing cash payments, equal annual value blocks and team cap allocation
Cash can vary by contract year while the basic average annual value remains level; cap accounting may add further CBA-specific treatment.

Use five labels carefully:

Total contract value
The scheduled compensation across the stated term, subject to the contract's actual provisions.
Annual salary or cash compensation
The gross amount scheduled in a particular League Year. A reliable table should identify whether it combines base salary and signing bonus.
Signing bonus
A payment component scheduled under the contract. It is not automatically added on top of a headline total that already includes it.
AAV
The averaged value used to compare contracts across their term in the ordinary case.
Cap hit or cap charge
The amount attributed under CBA accounting. It often tracks AAV for a standard contract, but retained salary, buyouts, bonus consequences and other rules can change what appears on a team's ledger.

When ranking “highest-paid NHL players,” choose the measure before sorting. A cash-salary ranking for 2026-27 can differ from an AAV ranking, and both can differ from total contract value. Preserve the data source's columns rather than copying the largest visible number. None of the three is net take-home pay.

Minimum salary, maximum salary, entry-level and two-way contracts

The 2025 NHL/NHLPA memorandum raises the minimum Paragraph 1 NHL Salary to $850,000 for 2026-27. That is the NHL-rate floor for a covered player contract, not a promise that a player receives $850,000 after deductions or earns the full annual amount after spending only part of the season in the NHL.

At the other end, the CBA framework limits aggregate player salary and bonuses in one Standard Player Contract to 20% of the Upper Limit for the applicable League Year. Twenty percent of the confirmed $104 million ceiling is $20.8 million. This is a rules-based maximum calculation, not a claim that someone actually has a $20.8 million AAV or cash salary in 2026-27. Contract timing and the exact CBA text still matter when evaluating a real deal.

Entry-level contracts operate inside a separate system. Eligible rookies face prescribed term, compensation and bonus rules, so “entry level” is not another word for “league minimum.” Performance bonuses can make the potential earnings and cap consequences differ from the base figure. The 2025 NHL/NHLPA memorandum also says contracts in the Entry Level System are automatically two-way and sets a maximum minor-league compensation of $87,500 for players associated with the 2026 and 2027 draft-year rows.

The two-way label is frequently misunderstood:

  • Two-way contract: provides an NHL salary rate and a lower minor-league rate; actual pay follows assignment and the contract/CBA.
  • One-way contract: provides the same stated salary rate if the player is assigned to the minors; it does not guarantee an NHL roster place.
  • Waiver exemption: is a separate status governed by age, experience and CBA rules. A two-way deal does not automatically let a club assign a player without waivers.

For a player who moves between leagues, a full-season NHL salary column is not necessarily his actual season earnings. A careful calculation needs the dates or days at each level, the contract's two-way rates, bonuses actually earned and official transaction history. Without those inputs, label the number “NHL salary rate” rather than “earned in 2026-27.”

Finally, do not assume every $850,000 cap hit is an identical contract. One can be a one-way veteran agreement, another a two-way deal, and another an entry-level season with bonus potential. The matching headline number hides materially different terms.

Why team payroll is not the same as salary-cap space

Cash payroll asks how much compensation is scheduled or paid during the year. Cap payroll asks what charges the CBA assigns to the club. Because AAV can differ from annual cash, the two totals can diverge even before considering trades, buyouts, injuries or bonuses.

A public “cap space” number is also a timestamped scenario, not a permanent balance. A signing adds a contract; a trade can move or split a charge; an assignment changes the roster and may provide only limited relief; a player going on an injured list does not automatically create dollar-for-dollar spending room. Earned performance bonuses can create consequences beyond the simplified roster table, while a prior buyout can leave a charge after the player has departed.

Before using any team figure, ask five questions:

  1. What time was it calculated? Offseason values can change several times in one day.
  2. Which players are included? A projected opening roster differs from every contract in the organization.
  3. Does it assume an injury exception? “Using” a mechanism and merely having an injured player are not the same.
  4. Are retained salary, buyouts and bonus overages included? Missing dead-money columns overstate flexibility.
  5. Is the number daily, accrued, projected or season-ending? These labels should not be mixed.

The NHL's internal Front Office app illustrates the complexity. League-approved users can inspect contract information and model lineups against cap rules rather than subtracting a visible salary list from the Upper Limit. Public analysts do not have to reproduce that private system, but they should disclose the roster assumptions and update time behind a calculation.

Transactions near the 2026 NHL trade deadline also show why cap hits can travel, be retained or remain through a buyout. When a database says a team has a particular amount of room, verify whether it is offseason space, current space or a deadline projection before comparing it with another site.

The $104 million ceiling is therefore the starting boundary, not the team's bank balance. A useful team table needs active contracts, accounting adjustments, roster size and a timestamp. Without them, “cap space by team” is a headline rather than a reproducible calculation.

How to compare NHL salaries by player, team and position

There is no meaningful “average NHL salary” until the dataset defines who counts and which money column is averaged. Opening-day active players, every player under an NHL contract and everyone who appears in at least one game are three different populations. The result changes again if the measure is AAV, 2026-27 cash compensation or cap charge.

Publish the mean and median together. The arithmetic mean adds every chosen value and divides by the number of observations; a small group of star contracts can pull it upward. The median is the middle observation after sorting and better describes the center of a skewed distribution. Neither is the “typical take-home,” and neither should include a partial-season player at his full NHL rate without explaining the method.

Use this reproducible workflow:

  1. Freeze the dataset at a stated date and time.
  2. Select a population, such as official opening active rosters.
  3. Select one metric: AAV, cap charge or scheduled 2026-27 gross cash.
  4. Normalize all values to U.S. dollars and preserve bonus components.
  5. Choose how to handle retained salary, buyouts, IR/non-roster names and two-way movement.
  6. Calculate count, mean, median, minimum and maximum; retain the raw rows for audit.

For a player ranking, name the sort column in the headline. “Highest 2026-27 cash salary” is not the same list as “highest AAV,” and “largest total contract” favors long terms. Add the contract term and source date so two equal AAVs are not presented as an unexplained ranking.

For team comparisons, use the same roster snapshot for all 32 clubs and either cap charges or cash—never one of each. Decide whether team totals include retained charges, buyouts and bonus overages. A low active-player total may reflect an incomplete offseason roster, so compare counts as well as dollars.

Position analysis needs another normalization. Forward, defense and goalie is the least ambiguous grouping. If centers and wings are separated, document how dual-position players are assigned. Goalies also occupy only two or sometimes three active places per club, so their sample is smaller and their contract distribution should not be compared with forwards as though roster structure were identical.

A games-played or roster-days weighted average can answer “what did an NHL participant earn while active?” but it is a different statistic from a simple contract mean. Label the weighting. If a source does not disclose population, metric, timestamp and exclusions, its average is orientation—not a figure precise enough to quote as league fact.

What NHL players actually take home—and how to verify salary data

No public AAV table can tell you a player's net pay. Gross contract compensation can be affected by federal tax, state or provincial tax, residence, source-of-income allocation, treaty treatment, bonus timing, escrow, agent fees, union or benefit deductions and individual expenses. Players work across U.S. states and Canadian provinces, while residency and personal facts differ.

The official tax guidance reinforces why a universal percentage fails. Canada's tax authority bases liability on residence status and the location/source of income. U.S. tax guidance has special reporting and withholding considerations for foreign athletes and treaty claims. The NHL/NHLPA agreement also provides for escrow withholding and later reconciliation under its hockey-related-revenue system. None of those inputs is captured by multiplying AAV by a generic “after tax” rate.

For that reason, do not publish “Player X takes home 53%” unless a qualified, player-specific analysis discloses its year, residence, jurisdictions, duty-day method, bonus structure, escrow assumption and deductions. Even then it is an estimate, not a copy of a private return. Players seeking an actual answer need qualified cross-border tax and legal advisers.

Salary-data verification should follow this hierarchy:

  1. NHL/NHLPA documents for league thresholds, the CBA rule and changes in the MOU.
  2. Official club or NHL announcements for a contract's stated term, total value and AAV.
  3. Multiple reputable contract databases for annual salary and bonus structure, because the signed Standard Player Contract and Central Registry record are not normally posted in full for fans.
  4. Official transaction history for trades, retention, assignments, buyouts and status changes that affect team context.

Build one row per player with these fields: club, contract start/end, total stated value, AAV, 2026-27 base salary, 2026-27 signing bonus, scheduled gross cash, displayed cap charge, contract type, source URL and last-checked time. Leave a cell unknown when the source does not disclose it. Never fill a missing annual cash figure with AAV merely to complete the table.

Match every number to the right season. Use the NHL calendar for League Year context and the complete NHL schedule for the 84-game competition window. Dates do not calculate salary, but they prevent a 2025-26 contract column from being mislabeled 2026-27.

The dependable summary is concise: the 2026-27 minimum NHL salary is $850,000, the team Upper Limit is $104 million and the Lower Limit is $76.9 million. Everything below those headlines needs a label—cash, AAV, cap charge, gross or estimated net—and a timestamped source.